top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeam Pakigsandurot

First Impression Doesn’t Last

I was once made "layog" with a girl named Maimai, (my nickname is Maymay) back when I was still in grade 2. She's a Tausog. That "layog" happened because of "possession of territory" within the the playground in our place (like I own this monkey bar and the seesaw). From that day on, I never wanted to have Muslim friends. When I started college in a state university where there are numerous of Muslim students, I also started my quest to wonder, explore, and appreciate them. From then on, i developed diversity appreciation and luckily I met a muslim student who later on became my close friend who introduced me some of their practices, beliefs and cultures. I found out that their belief is very beautiful, the way they protect women, maintains their kind of wearing, their dialects, the way they pray and worship God. As My experiences with my muslim friends were even too meaningful. I never regret. Feud and chaos are everywhere regardless of the religion, culture, preferences, and moral codes. Hence, it's inevitable. Let's stop stereotyping and start spreading awareness and positivity!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

If only they know

Islamophobia. According to the dictionary, phobia is an extremely strong dislike or fear of someone or something while Islam means peace. Islamophobia... Why would someone fear peace? Isn't that what

bottom of page