top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeam Pakigsandurot

Season Of Giving

“People making lists. Buying special gifts. Taking time to be kind to one and all.” It was a time of giving, a time for joy and a time for something special. Indeed, it was the season of Christmas. I remembered that day, the 22nd of December, when me, my mom and my little niece went to the church for the Misa de Gallo. Many people are busy and excited for the upcoming celebration. Everyone is lighting candles and offering presents to the baby Jesus. As we were about to go home, a thing from the store attracted the attention of my niece. She wanted to have the toy but my mom is unable to buy it. Dismayed, she burst into tears while throwing tantrums. My mom tried to calm her and explained that she cannot afford the toy for now but assured her that she will have it soon. Amidst the commotion, a stranger handed the toy to my niece saying, “Merry Christmas. Kunin mo na ‘to.” My mom was hesitant to receive the gift but my niece wholeheartedly accepted it with a huge smile on her face. After giving the gift, she immediately left and waved us goodbye. It was indeed a time of giving, a time for joy and a time for something special. My mom was so thankful to the woman who sincerely gave a present to my niece. A woman whom we never thought would show us kindness and generosity. A woman dressed and covered with hijab. Indeed, it was the season of Christmas and love. PS. It won’t cost you anything to be good and generous.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

If only they know

Islamophobia. According to the dictionary, phobia is an extremely strong dislike or fear of someone or something while Islam means peace. Islamophobia... Why would someone fear peace? Isn't that what

bottom of page