top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeam Pakigsandurot

What I don't know what is I know now

Okay here’s the thing about living in a city which is too far away from places dominantly occupied by Muslims like Iligan City: First and foremost I grew up in a city and lived my 19 years there with only few ACQUAINTED people (in school only) who follow the teachings of Islam. I guess they only inhabited 1/5 of our place. And yes, that estimation is way too little compared here. Well, these people there are known to deal with bad works (not to specify things here) and lived in a hidden and tight places. That is why it is imprinted on my mind to not go to those places and to never deal with these people. Because according to the people that surrounds me, if you mess with them, the whole clan will turn unto you. And maybe, I am not the only one having this on my mind. But there are always those moments in your life which changes everything that you believed. Being situated here in Iligan City for almost 8 months partly changes my perspective towards these people. First is that, Muslims have different tribes like Maranao, Tausug and etc. Second is that, they are not what I think they are. Some are also victims of the stereotyping about them. They lost their home. They lost their friends. And they are being judged by people in general (maybe it cannot be observed here but in some places indeed it can) . All of what I am saying is because I have great Maranao friends for only just a span of time of being here in the city. We share our values. We talked our culture and perspectives. We eat out and we mope together. If all of us can only be open-minded of all the cultures and personalities of the people that is different from our own, then we can achieve what we think is ideal- peace.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

If only they know

Islamophobia. According to the dictionary, phobia is an extremely strong dislike or fear of someone or something while Islam means peace. Islamophobia... Why would someone fear peace? Isn't that what

bottom of page